Voting in Brahmanbaria-1 by-poll underway

Voting in Brahmanbaria-1 by-poll underway.

Voting in the election to Brahmanbaria by-election began on Tuesday morning with over two lakh people expected to exercise their franchise.

The voting started at 8am and will end at 4pm without any break.

Voting in Brahmanbaria-1 by-poll underway

In early hours of voting, low presence of voters was seen at most of the polling centres. Officials concerned hoped that voter turnout will increase as the day is progressed.

Elite force Rapid Action Battalion, Border Guard Bangladesh (BGB), police and Ansar have remained deployed at polling centres to ensure holding of the polls peacefully.

Bodruddoza M Farhad Hossain of Awami League, Rezwan Ahmed of Jatiya Party and Abul Kashem Mohammad Asraful Haque of Islami Oikya Jote are vying for becoming member of the 10th parliament from the constituency.

A total of 214,009 people—110,410 male and 103,599 female — are expected to cast their votes.

A total of 39 mobile teams (three in each union) are discharging their duties at 13 unions in the constituency.

Additional security measures have been taken at 49 risky polling centres.

Brahmanbaria-1 seat fell vacant following the death of its lawmaker Awami League leader and Fisheries and Livestock Minister Sayedul Hoque.

On December 16 last, Sayedul Hoque passed away at a hospital in the capital at the age of 75.